“Off the Record”

Last week while interviewing Gail Ludwig for the Boomtown profiles, there were multiple times when she would say “off record.”

Nothing that she said during those times was something that I wanted to use, but it made me question the ability of an interviewee to go off the record, especially in the middle of an interview like that.

I find myself wondering if it had been a bigger story and if something she had said during those times was something that I really wanted to put in a story, what would I do?

In that situation, I think it would be critical for me to make my case. To tell my interviewee what I believe the importance is of writing about what they want as “off the record.”

If after that, they still didn’t want those pieces to be written about, I think it would be a situation where after talking to an editor about it, I would write two drafts of the story. One with the information and one without and then make my case again to the interviewee, showing them both forms of the story.

I don’t know if that would be an effective way to do such a thing, but I would hope that it would work and help my story.

Leave a Reply

